Change is …Different

 “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing

over and over again, yet expecting different results.”     

  -Stephen Covey

Change is different

Change can be daunting, scary, refreshing, and energizing.  All at the same time

  • Some changes are (relatively) easy…

I can change my hair color

I have the prerogative to change my mind.  Often.  And I do

I change the oil in my car (or, I know where to take it and pay someone to do it)

I  change my Facebook status too often.

  • Some changes are rare
  • Some changes are welcome…
  • Some changes are out of our control

…I want to believe that most changes really are within our control, if we look close enough and if we want it bad enough

Change makes me happy, usually.  Even if it’s not easy, change means I’m not afraid of taking chances.  I like to make things happen, it’s the somewhat controlling person in me who is always trying to fix something and make it better.

I want change and I do want it bad enough to take some chances and make some changes.

I’m a teacher, and I don’t need Superman.  I need a growth mindset, a positive attitude, and an effective plan.

Education needs change.

Our kids deserve change.  Change for the better.

Some things I can change, a few I can not.

 I can not change a child’s home life and I can not use that as an excuse.

But I do know what I can change.

As a teacher with 24 learners, I can change the future, times 24!

I have been given the opportunity to make. change. happen.  every. single.  day!

Putting change to work in the classroom is….well,

 Like the commercial says:

PrIcelEsS!

 

…So about that classroom change?

I’ve been stuck in my ways, (still am in oh so many ways…), but I’m opening my mind, listening to new ideas, researching current effective trends in education, as well as reviving old tried and true practices, and most importantly…I’m collaborating with enthusiastic co-workers!

Things are changing in our classroom.  For the better.

What I do is based on powers we all have inside us; the ability to endure; the ability to love, to carry on, to make the best of what we have – and you don’t have to be a ‘Superman’ to do it. Christopher Reeve

I chose to give up some control; I want to be a facilitator in our classroom, not a leader.  I want those ever-creative, open-minded, fresh-thinking 5 year-olds to be in charge of their own learning…

I want to encourage them to learn through discovery… they don’t need me as much as you may think; they are becoming more independent everyday.

It’s not necessary for me to hover over them.  My role is to make myself progressively unnecessary, Thomas Carruthers told me so.

We can’t wait for superman, we don’t have to.

 We have all that we need to make changes.

The first change is our mindset.

Change sounds simple.  Right?  It really is.  If you want it bad enough.

Change is daunting, scary, refreshing and energizing.  All at the same time good,  just ask any of my 5 year-old co-workers.

You will be sure to hear 24 very unique answers.

May THAT NEVER CHANGE…

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Change is …Different

  1. Arciolla says:

    Great post. It is easy for the powers that be to come down on teachers, it provides them an excuse to not look at their shortcomings.

    • tuesday2 says:

      Hey Arciolla, thanks for being one of those enthusiastic, collaborating co-workers; you inspire me (when you aren’t picking on me).

      This whole metamorphosis started in that Designing Spaces meeting with your suggestion, “Get rid of ALL of your desks.” The kids LovE it and seeing them work and learn in our new environment is so invigorating! The energy is contagious!

      So….what are we going to do next?

  2. reenie says:

    Change – it’s a great thing !!! Love your post Shelley keep it up – ! Hey and Merry Merry Christmas – ! Love ya Reenie

  3. Bella says:

    Inspiring and thought provoking! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post. It made me think of my years as an educator and how many teachers stay rooted in the same routine year after year. I had to smile at your comment of “just ask any of my 6 year-old co-workers.” Priceless!

  4. amybisson says:

    Well, you’ve really given us a catalyst for really throwing open our rooms to change. My teaching partner and I are interested in the balance balls you used…. can you give us some details?

  5. Pingback: Outside of the Box « An Educator's Journey

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!