A (want 2 be) Minimalist

I am the kind of person who reads about something,
-good or bad
…and just has to try it!

-Remember the story about Little Mikey from Life cereal fame? He had (allegedly) died from mixing Pop Rocks and soda. I tried that. I’m still here.

-Everyone knows you shouldn’t mix ammonia and bleach, but I had to try it anyway…just to see what all the fuss was about. That was a short lived experiment.

-Have you ever heard that potted plants can suck the oxygen from sick rooms? I tried this when my daughter had Chicken Pox. She’s still here. Chicken Pox aren’t.

…I’m beginning to lose my focus; onto my topic as I try to use the fewest of words.

I have been reading a lot about the lifestyle of the Minimalist. I actually went to the library and brought home many, many books on the topic. (The word MANY in the vocabulary of a Minimalist sounds like irony to me…but, hey-I am just beginning to explore this lifestyle).

So, I have begun my practice…

-I run barefoot (although only on the soft grass…still a bit of a sissy here).

-Hanging my laundry on the line to dry- love the scratchy absorbency of bath towels, although my husband continues to complain about the texture!

-I delete e-mails not marked URGENT (much to the dislike of my dad who just discovered this ‘ultra-modern’ mode of communication).

-Enthusiastically began my own veggie garden with help and support from my farm-girl friend, Valerie.

-I bring my groceries home in a reusable eco-friendly bag, as well as buy foods that come in their own packaging.

-I have cleaned out the over-stuffed kitchen junk drawer and sorted through crowded closets …finally tossing my daughter’s collection of once-worn prom dresses (I will NEVER tell her this).

And, while on the subject of clothes, here is the newspaper article that got me thinking today

…have you read about the Six Items or Less Diet?
The newest best friend of the Minimalist?

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/22/fashion/22SIXERS.html?_r=1&pagewanted=print

So, there you have it… another example of something I heard about and just have to try! Are YOU up for the challenge?

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

