Selfish?

I don’t like 2 share. 

 My husband, Jim calls me selfish (quite often).  He has clearly mislabeled me.

It’s not my fault, I was born this way.  I was expected 2 share before I was even born.  That’s right, I had 2 share those long nine months with my twin sister.

So you see it started early, my rebelling (with cause) against this whole sharing concept. 

I shared entirely 2 much in the early days; it all started in the womb and continued with double occupancy in the lead painted crib. 

As we outgrew the crib WE graduated 2 sharing a twin bed (pun intended).

I never had my own birthday cake.  I never even had my own BIRTH DAY!

Sharing is very over-rated. 

The early years passed but share remained a bad word.  It only got worse. 

 My parents seemed 2 grow tired of all the fighting and tug-0-wars. 

 That’s when things started 2 get better …’cause eventually there were 2 of everything in that childhood home.

Not just at Christmas. Everyday. Everywhere. 

Sounds good, right?

Here’s the catch… everything, everyday, everywhere was…yep! Identical!

  • There were 2 bikes complete with banana seats, a basket and bell

 

  • 2 Raggedy Anne and Andy (rusty) metal lunch boxes

  • 2 Floral print Maxi Dresses
  •  

  • 2 Mrs. Beasley dolls
  •  

  • 2 Easy Bake Ovens
    • 2 Lemon Twists

     

    Where was my identity?  How was I expected 2 put my own twist on uniqueness?

    Flash 2 the future:  I’m not selfish.  I’m simply independent, striving 2 claim my individuality.

    I bake my OWN birthday cake.

     I value my time alone.

    Sometimes I’d prefer 2-

    •   …read a book instead of make small talk 
    •  … go for a run with my Ipod rather than walk hand-in-hand
    •  …choose solitaire over a team sport (nevermind that I’m not    athletic)

    Wait, don’t get me wrong, besides my food, my time and my personal belongings there are some things that I am willing 2 share…like my opinion. 

     Granted, this can make me a bit difficult 2 live with, (I can only admit that ’cause Jim says he never reads my blog). 

    Regardless…

    Being the selfish person that I am…who says I’d share my thoughts with him anyway?

    About tuesday2

    My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
    This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

    10 Responses to Selfish?

    1. Donna Culver says:

      Shelley,
      Awwww that must have really been hard having to share everything. Well this little note is just for you. Keep up the wrtiting I love reading them.

    2. Chris says:

      I remember Lemon Twists! Very funny!

    3. reenie says:

      I love it that you and Donna shared me in High school – ! I also love the Fact that your parents DID NOT give you Twinny names …..You are not Deborah, Daisy, Danielle, Dana or Dianne- Love you Shelley for just who YOU are! Just saw this one and of course I HAD to share my oppinion 🙂

    4. tuesday2 says:

      Well, Reenie-

      First of all, Donna did kinda monopolize you!

      …Wish we had more than just that one year together; but there sure are many good memories. Thanks for sharing. Always!

    5. Pingback: Seeing Red | Tuesday2's Blog

    6. Pingback: Double Talk | Tuesday2's Blog

    7. It’s really interesting to read your thoughts on this. I am always wondering how to handle things with my two.

      • tuesday2 says:

        Natasha,

        Parenting is odd like that! I never really figured it all out until my daughters grew up, left for college, and I had some time to reflect!

        I always wondered if I had handled things ok? My payoff came when my daughters looked back and said, “Mom, you did a good job!”

        By the way, I can only imagine the joy of raising two at a time! 😀 Being a twin, my dad always told me that he only had one chance to get it right, there weren’t any kids before us and my mom had her hands full with two at a time…so there were no other kids after us.

        So happy to have stumbled upon your site! (I added it to my blog roll). I now have the chance to view twin-rearing through the eyes of a parent.

    8. Thanks a lot for that thoughtful comment. It’s great that your daughters are insightful and generous enough to tell you that you did a good job! I understand what your dad meant about not having a second chance. I imagine that if I had one and then another I’d be a bit better with the second?! Hopefully at least. And yeah, hands full!
      Thanks for adding me to your blog roll, You’re on mine now!

    Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

    