Learning 2 be a Teacher

 “When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

 – John Lennon

  •  So what do we (teachers) do with ‘kids like that’…the ones that think outside the box, can’t sit still, question us, and give answers that can’t be scored with a rubric?  
  • We learn from them.

Summer is ending…I’m heading back to work soon.

 I like that (the heading back to work part).

I am fortunate to have discovered a career that doesn’t feel too much like work.  My office building is decorated with books, laughter, and the smell of pizza dunkers on Fridays.

 I share my ‘office’ with 22 knowledgeable, creative, and very energetic co-workers.  They’re only five years old, not yet jaded or cynical; their enthusiasm is contagious.

 Don’t get me wrong, teaching is a lot of work;

…always plenty of paperwork and lengthy to-do lists waiting to be tucked into my take home bag.

 I took my dad’s advice:

 “Discover what you love to do

…and then figure out a way to find someone to pay you to do it.”

I know my dad is not the inventor of that statement, but that’s where I first heard (and believed) it.  Still do.

I’m a kindergarten  teacher.  By the end of the day my mind is a maze of paperwork because, (I continue to convince myself), that all that stuff can wait till the kids go home.

 I just have to let it be.  Do you know any teacher that doesn’t work overtime?

I spend the school day learning from my students- in perfect balance with teaching my students.

 Lately, I’ve been learning a lot about the value of just letting it be; paperwork included, leaving much more time to take advantage of every live moment in our classroom.

By the way, I never liked school as a kid.   Sure, I enjoyed the early years, but by the time junior high, (that’s what we used to call it), came around I was faking illness, skipping school and struggling to find a reason tp attend.  Most of the time it was simply a new outfit or pizza on the cafeteria menu that encouraged me to show up that day.

I survived those awkward years of 7th and 8th grade and ventured on to what I saw as my last years of compliance. Once I made it out of high school, the very last thing on my agenda was….moRe scHoOl?

A college degree never even crossed my mind….until I had children of my own and realized the great opportunity and responsibility to instill in those children the value of education.

When my daughters started school it brought back many memories of my own elementary years.  It suddenly dawned on me that although I didn’t always like school, what I did like were my teachers.  I wanted to be a teacher.

Sequence wasn’t a factor, possibility, or even a concern.

  There was no going back and doing it all in order; I was going to college.  Now.

I soon found myself as a nontraditional student with a (long-term) plan.  I won’t take you through the 16 years of night, summer, online and weekend classes that it took me to get there…

But,  I made it.  I’m here.  I never take for granted all that I struggled through to get here.   Teaching is an enormous responsibility and an incredible opportunity.

 If I leave the paperwork till later…just let that be and do the real work now, in the now, the get on the carpet with ’em kinda teaching… the learning will happen.

I’m learning more about teaching every single day.  When I stop learning and growing, that’s when I will stop teaching.

I learn from my learners, they cue me to  let the paperwork be till later, and they remind me that not all answers are  meant to be judged by a teacher or her rubric.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Education, Teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Learning 2 be a Teacher

  1. Renee says:

    You are the most natural teacher I ever met (and you weren’t even technically a teacher yet when I last saw you!).

    • tuesday2 says:

      Renee, thank you for the compliment! It was that amazing group of kids (and families) that I worked with years ago that helped to inspire me! Please say hello to Emma for me!

  2. Pingback: Do what you love, love what you do « Mind Overload

  3. reenie says:

    Shelley it never matters how long it takes us to fulfill a dream – just as long as we live it ! I have loved teaching my children and granted I only have 3 I have been at it for 16 years now without the teaching degree….. and without the pay lol – I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I have learned more about myself and my own children in the past 16 years than I would have any other way. I discovered why grammar never made sence the first time around but now I enjoy the understanding I aquired as I taught my first daughter – why she struggeled and why I did…found an awesome curic. on grammar and FINALLY understand it. Teaching lets us know what we know….I find it awesome that if I can teach it – I really understand it ! Blessings to you Shelley you have found you nitch and are enjoying the fruits of your labors! Love ya Reenie

  4. Pingback: Pudding Priorites in Place. | Tuesday2's Blog

  5. just re-read this post, and re-loved it

  6. Pingback: Pudding Priorites in Place. | Tuesday2's Blog

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

