From No Rest …2 Empty Nest

I have friends in all different stages of their lives.

photo

Single friends staying out late, newlyweds planning honeymoons, new parents surviving on little (if any) sleep, and then…the group that I can relate 2 …the Empty Nesters. 

I don’t remember any one of those early stages of living being any better than another.  Selective memory perhaps.  I Enjoyed them all while I was there.  Again, selective memory.

Retirement 2 follow.  Not sure how much I will enjoy that.

Life offers perks with every milestone, we all know that.  I didn’t used 2 believe this, but now that I’ve lived through a few of those phases I look forward 2 the next chapter.

Even retirement.

At this time of year… what’s coming next for those moms and dads just about to send their little ones 2 school for the first time?  Some tears, many heart-clenching, shoulder-grabbing good-bye’s and even some determined school bus chasers.

The other end of the spectrum?  It’s those little ones that have (nearly) grown up and are now trying (desperately) 2 send their helicopter parents back home.  Alone.

Check out this clip from The Today Show

http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/26184891/vp/38989653#38989653

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in advice, children, Daughters, family, Humor, parenting, parenting style, raising children, relationships, stress. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to From No Rest …2 Empty Nest

  1. Tommy Heath says:

    This is so totally cool that you do this! Awesome!

    • tuesday2 says:

      Thanks for the kind words, Tommy!

      I have fun with it; hoping I can continue to make time to write now that the new school year has begun (officially in about 3 1/2 hours)!

      Feel free to help me edit, make suggestions on topics and always leave me with your thoughts!

      Shelley 🙂

  2. Reenie Bovier says:

    My nest isn’t empty …..I still have a 10 year old who keeps me on my toes, but my 20 year old daughter insist I am not the same mom with him as I was with her and her 18 year old sister…. True That I am NOT ! Sometimes this is disturbing and others I just laugh at myself. When your last 2 children are 8 years apart there is going to be room for some changes….. I love the idea of the empty nest , but it is just an idea right now… My oldest will be in Buffalo , my middle child was supposed to leave for school , but due to a concussion is still home with us, and this too has been an interesting change of events, and then there is my 10 year old who makes me feel young again – I can relate to sending them on their way – I can even get excited as they venture off to live lives that they were called to live, but that empty nest …Well Shelley I will just have to take your word for it , that when Trace is ready to leave me in 8 years or so that I will be wanting him to ….stay…… That thought makes me laugh- but then who knows all that could change in those 8 years ……. Love your topics keep em’ coming !!!! Love you too 🙂 Reenie

    • tuesday2 says:

      Reenie,

      My older daughter, Allie claims that Lauren (only 2 yrs younger) got away with sooo much more! In her best moments, Allie would often give me advice on how to raise her little sister!

      You are very right…parenting changes with each child. Either we learn more along the way… or we just. Plain. Get. Tired!

  3. Pingback: I was Just in the Neighborhood… | Tuesday2's Blog

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

