Top 10+ Questions

For the past 20-something years my daughters have been questioning me. 

You know how it goes…it begins with those cute phrases in the toddler years:

 “Waz tat?”  “Whrd it go?” “Why?” “Why not?”

…but soon enough it escalates to…

  • Why is the sky blue?

Who knows!   it!

    • Why can’t I stay up?

 

Because I’M tired

  • How can you ground me from the ice cream truck for the WHOLE summer?!

Because I’m the mom

  •  What’s for dinner?
  •  What do you mean you’re not making dinner?

 

  •   Do you love that cat more than you love me? 

Wait. Is that a rhetorical question?

  •  Why do I have such a short torso?!

(She answered this one herself)…

“It’s YOUR fault that I have such a short torso!

YOU  have a short torso!  This is not fair!”

    • Why CAN’T my friends drink here?

‘Cause I’m a good mom.

    • Why can’t we order my senior pictures?

Because we’re poor right now and I spent way to much money on your sister’s pictures.  She IS the first-born you know.

    • I want to have kids someday, but what if they’re ugly?

 I survived it.  You will to.

    •  Should I be an organ donor?  (sent via text)

Yes.  Why are you asking me this right now?!

  •  How long do I boil an egg?   

This from the daughter with a 4 year degree from a university that cost more than any house I’ll ever live in.

The list goes on and on…The questioning continues. 

The answers get more complicated.

I can handle complicated.  I’m a mom.

I’m a teacher to; I’m ok with questions.  I expect questions.  I encourage questions.

(Well, as long as you raise your hand)

The questions I get from my kindergarten kiddos can easily be found in a textbook. Somewhere.

So who’s got the answer key for all those other questions?

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in children, Daughters, favorite child, Humor, parenting, parenting style, raising children, teenagers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 10+ Questions

  1. I forgive you for the short torso because you also gave me skinny genes. for now.

    and we both know you do love the cat more than us..

  2. Renee says:

    They don’t teach cooking at most universities! How long to boil an egg is a universal question with myriad correct answers. 🙂

  3. reenie says:

    Don’t you love it that we as parents don’t have to have all the answers – I love the dictionary the encyclopedia and the computer, they all make finding answers so much easier. My favorite times have always been when my kids find out I don’t know everything…I try to keep it a secret but they find it out all to soon. I love the reaction …What do you mean you don’t know !!!??? My son will ask me stuff that only an astronaut would know the answers to…I wish I had Doug Hurley’s number…I am thankful that they want to know stuff – whatever it is . I also think it is a right of passage for parents to ask their children things as well – you know – Where are you going? How many people did you have in that car? Do you know why I am the mom ?
    My favorite would have to be If all your friends jumped off a bridge would you ? (it’s eternal ) Questions are what keep us invested, they keep us interested and at times even motivated…How much money do I need to make if I want that new bike? Why don’t the kids down the steet have bikes? What can I do to help them get a bike? I like the fact that as they get older they invest in their own answers and don’t just take mine as the “right ” answer (although eventually they find I wasn’t off the mark…LOL ) . I love questions and obviously so does my son every field trip we go on he asks about 100 questions. I love thoughtful answers that make me think….Many of lifes answers are found in the book of Proverbs – The book of wisdom….. I guess God will always have the corner on the answers. Thanks Shelley loved this one – Just one question (and yes my hand is raised ) When did you put this one up ? How did I miss it ? okay I know that was 2 questions – sorry 🙂 Blessings Reenie

  4. Thanks for sharing this post with me!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

