I Can See the Future…

There is this girl I know.  I met her many years ago.

Twenty-seven years ago on Sunday, to be exact.

She’s strong.  Stubborn.  Independent.  Mouthy.

Beautiful inside and out.

We named her Lauren.

She was an easy-going baby

…and a low-maintenance toddler-compared to her older sister, Allie.

<Oh come on !  Who doesn’t compare their kids.  Really??>

Lauren had her doubts about The Tooth Fairy, The Easter Bunny

and even Santa Claus,

…but she always believed in herself.

  • Lauren did well in elementary school

 As long as she could be the line leader,                               

 …buy ice cream on Fridays, and order chocolate milk. Daily.

  • phone
  • Middle school is when she gave me gray hair,              

ran up the phone bill… and inspired me to pray.  Very hard.

By high school,

    …she had dyed her hair, pierced her belly button and slammed her bedroom door so many times that I finally pulled it off the hinges.  With my bare hands.  I credit this talent to that non-human strength fueled by an adrenaline rush only a mom could harness.

The rebel!  She hung a blanket on the doorway and lived like a happy hippy for months.

I did re-hang the door. Eventually. When we put the house up for sale.

She’s living on her own now.

In an apartment with doors on every room.

She’s nearly grown and has channeled that stubborn streak into willpower.

Her mouth no longer has a will of its own.

Lauren has built a life of her own.

A good life.  With a strong foundation for the future.

Lauren has a best friend who just happens to be the love of her life (besides her dog, Scooter).

Phil can hang and re-hang doors as needed (always with a touch of Pinterst).

I have a feeling that may come in handy.

laurenn

 

Lauren pays her own bills and is working her way through life

-with great determination and a lot of spirit!

 Lauren still believes in herself.

 I believe in her even more.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Daughters, family, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Can See the Future…

  1. Pingback: Weighing in on Mother’s Day | Tuesday2's Blog

  2. donna striley says:

    Love this post! ♥

  3. momsmessages says:

    You should be very proud!!! Isn’t motherhood the best?? Even through all the fighting and worry the girls grew to become women we can be very proud to call ours!!

    Congratulations on a job well done!

  4. tuesday2 says:

    Reblogged this on Tuesday2's Blog and commented:

    Happy Birthday, Lauren.

  5. very nice and she looks like you in the picture

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

