Love & Hate

I read a friends Facebook status:

Julia has a love/hate relationship with Christmas right now.

That describes my spirit for the entire month of December, beginning exactly on the day after Thanksgiving.

 it’s my favorite time of year.

Thanksgiving, not Christmas.  I’ve been called a Grinch by friends and family.

My own wide-eyed, Hallmark hostess, festivus-crave-ious  daughter, Allie 

Christmas. Allie style.

 

shouts at me  tells me,  “Mom, you suck the life right out of the holiday season.”  She means it.  She may be completely right.

Allie is completely grown and on her own now so I don’t have to worry so much about her psyche being damaged by my Christmas boycotting and lack of luster for tinsel.  I did my part in her early years. We read “Twas the Night Before Christmas, ” put out the cookies for the fat guy in the red suit. I even dragged her to the mall to stand in the long line just to sit on a strangers lap and beg for toys.  She loved it. 

What she didn’t love was my recent  suggestion, “Let’s move the holiday to January (when all the great sales happen)! The idealistic girl did flinch a bit at this great idea of mine.  She was not even willing to consider the suggestion.  So, maybe I’ll just keep great ideas like that to myself, or share them with my boycotting best friend.

Debbie supports me, (what are best friends for?), when I tell her that I decided not to even bring the decorations up from the basement this year. 

Debbie applauds my naked tree (which I was shamed into buying because it’s easier to cough up 45 dollars than see the look on the face of the Hallmark hostess when she comes home for the holidays).

Debbie doesn’t even ask why the tree has no ornaments.  Just lights.  White lights of course.

Don’t get me wrong.  I put gifts under the tree, I buy eggnog for my husband, and I say, “Merry Christmas” to the check-out girl at Wegmans.  I do still believe.

I believe in the ReAL reason behind the season.  That belief is what keeps me from c o m p l e t e l y losing my (narrow) mind at this time of year

 I just wish I could write a letter to Santa and ask him to play down all the holiday hype a bit…  Who ever found Christmas in a long line at a shopping mall anyway?

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Love & Hate

  1. wendy lowden says:

    I love you!

  2. Allie Mac says:

    but the decorations are part of the joy!!!!!!

  3. Ron Merrill says:

    You are right about the real meaning of CHRISTmas, but ba humbug Shelley. That is terrible not to put at least one ornament on your tree.

    Scrooge, I luvya anyway,

    Dad

  4. Becky says:

    I agree 100%!!!!!!!!!!

    Becky

  5. Pingback: The fa la la la blahs « Mind Overload

  6. donna striley says:

    I remember the year you had a Christmas tree. It was at the curb by dark on Christmas day. 😉

  7. reenie says:

    Shelley loved the song I have never heard that one before- thanks for sharing it! The line to see Jesus starts in the heart. Good thing we don’t have to wait- for we can come boldly before the thrown and ask of him whatever we need and the best part ~ it’s not just at Christmas! You are too funny about your tree and ornaments……. but this is just a break until the Grands come …………….LOL 😉 love you !!!!!! That won’t change!

  8. Pingback: Seeing Red | Tuesday2's Blog

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

