You Don’t Say!

I’m a mom.  I feel no physical pain that I can not ignore or dismiss.

Mind over matter.  Right?

Right.

For a while.

After too many weeks, I broke down and made an appointment with the doctor because of a tenderness/pain in my lower back.  I had dismissed it as a sign that I simply needed to stretch more.  Or better.  Or at least be more thorough about it.

Maybe I just need to run more.  Or better.  Or less.

The denial had run its own course.

I knew it was time to make the appointment because I had resorted to self-diagnosis of the worst kind.

Yep.  Right.  I typed in my symptoms and searched Google .

via....Google Images.  Irony.

via….Google Images. Irony.

According to my research, I had some rare disease contracted only on the remote island of Bouvet. 

While keyboarding for a diagnosis…I started sneezing, felt my sinuses begin to ache, heard my voice fading…till it was gone.  I chalked it up to the stress of treating my rare disease.

Right.  Contracted only on the remote island of Bouvet.  My husband was  no support when I shared my concern.  He laughed at me.

I made it to the doctor’s office.  She assumed I was there for my cold.

“Oh, I don’t have a cold.”

Denial.

“I’m here for a professional diagnosis,”  I whispered, not at all out loud.

Although I knew what was going on with me, I figured I’d let her confirm it.

I went home with a referral for physical therapy, some ibuprofen, directions to apply heat to that rare disease of mine…and an antibiotic.

Sure, I would’ve said no thank you to the antibiotic. If I had a voice.

I am a mom.  I am tough.   I’m not a martyr.  Bring on the meds!  Thank you, doctor.

Doctor’s professional diagnosis?  A pulled muscle.  Probably.

She called my strained voice… pharyngitis, fairly common.

My husband calls it an uncommon gift.

A gift to him from his friends on the remote island of Bouvet.

I didn’t laugh.  I couldn’t.

I was speechless.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Health, Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Don’t Say!

  1. wendy lowden says:

    Oh my goodness you are hilarious! I love reading this blog. The last time I looked up my symptoms online, I had about a week to live. Turns out I was having an IBS attack.
    YUP! Who hasn’t been there!? I would like to check out Bouvet though! 🙂

    • tuesday2 says:

      Wendy, yeah…that Google tool can be a bit dangerous!

      Once I recover, perhaps we should plan a weekend trip to Bouvet? Girls only. We wouldn’t even need to talk; we all understand one another so well…who needs words?

  2. Robert Arciolla says:

    Great post Shelley Mac… Thank the God above I didn’t have to hear you speak these last 2 days… Can you come hang out with Shannon please?

  3. reenie says:

    Too funny Shelley ! I’ve just recently used webmd to help me make some decisions on weather or not I need surgery, the Dr. says Yes, but I am not so inclined to ” go quickly into that good~night ” …..even if it is an organ that I am not using any longer…. Weighing the pros and the cons of it all, still haven’t made a decision yet ~ but I know I need to – procrastination is sometimes the worst medicine….You know what I mean – seeing you are right beside me with your rare disease from Bouvet- aka pulled muscel…. lol . Often we think we can get around “it ” push through it, or just plain ignore it and it will go away , more often than not – “it ” needs an intervention form the physician ‘s well spring of knowledge…. Loved this one Shelley! Keep ’em coming 🙂

  4. Pingback: For Both of my Readers. | Tuesday2's Blog

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

