Lessons Learned in Time

“Don’t say you don’t have enough time.

 You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to…

Helen Keller, Pasteur, Michaelangelo, Mother Teresea, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson, and Albert Einstein.”

Life's Little Instruction Book, compiled by H. Jackson Brown, Jr

 

 It’s that time of year

Being the organized, self-proclaimed creature of control that I am-

 I have an agenda today:  I am making a futile attempt to reclaim that lost hour of time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

  

 

Photo Courtesy of Bing Images

 

 

Real life time suckers: housework, homework, yard work, piles of paperwork, and multiple miscellaneous deadlines, (all intensified by the Facebook Factor), have me futilely focused on time management. 

Managing time is a part of my system of control.

When the higher powers mess with my systems I get understandably unnerved. 

I need my predictable routine.  

 I plan my day to the minute.  Now I’ve lost an hour. 

  

I invested well over an hour yesterday trying to convince my first graders that I was not making up the concept of daylight savings time

 I told them it’s real.  I told them it wasn’t my idea. 

You’re kidding. Right? 
 
 They just didn’t get it.  They are still recovering from a February lesson on the logistics of Leap Year.
 “Wait.  You mean I have to go to bed when it’s still light outside?”
“Whose big idea is this?”
I shared the science, the facts, and the reasoning behind the time shift, but all I got were doubting eyes and disbelief.
 First-graders are still trying to grasp why recess and lunch go by ‘way faster’ than timed tests, writing blocks, and mad math minutes. 
Digital or analog… to a 6 year-old watches are a piece of outdated jewelry when you are learning to tell time via the Verizon method.
    
It takes more than a good plan to understand the concept of time. 
It takes leap years.

 

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in History, Teaching, Time management. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lessons Learned in Time

  1. Dad says:

    Shelley, you are a second Andy Rooney. Maybe better.

  2. shelley says:

    Thanks. I think.

    That reminds me of all those Sunday nights when you watched 60 minutes like it was CNN.

  3. reenie says:

    Hahhaha I still don’t get it either, so maybe I should come to first grade ! lol All I know is I still only have 24 hours – if you figure out a way to improve on that – let me know !!!!! Love ya !!!!

  4. thyrkas says:

    Marvelous! The late Canadian author Robertson Davies was very suspicious that Daylight Saving Time was a puritanical throwback which had merit in the idea that one now had more time to work. Hmmm…

    Great writing! Thanks!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

