“Looking Back. Smiling Forward.”

“When you finally go back to your old hometown, you find it wasn’t the old home you missed but your childhood” -Sam Ewing

I like to reminisce.

I can easily be taken back in time by a Journey song on the radio, the scent of Love’s Baby Soft perfume, the taste of a Twinkie, or a black and white rerun of I Love Lucy.

Today, it was the opening of a chapter from a current read by Brunonia Barry, The Lace Reader  that sent me back in time:

“Old houses catch threads of the people who have lived in them… 

For the most part, those threads stay quietly in place

 until someone disturbs them.”

I closed my eyes and drifted back to the childhood home in our old neighborhood where my daughters grew up.  We lived in that house for nearly two decades.  Both girls were brought home from the hospital, carried up the steps, through the front door and they never called another house home until they left for college some 17 years later.

We no longer live in that house.  We sold the house and kept the memories.

The girls have grown up and they have made new lives in homes of their own.

That childhood home still stands; it’s only a few miles from our new place.  But in my heart, it’s much closer.

That front door they were carried through?  I can still hear it slam as the girls ran in and out playing and fighting with the neighborhood kids all day long…   yep, ‘until the street lights came on.’

That slamming door drove me crazy then.  The memory comforts me now.

Sometimes I turn down that old street, drive slow past that house, and I can see all those kids playing still.  Except now, it’s only an old black and white sitcom, playing my mind.

Scene 1: Riding bikes, manning day-long lemonade stands, catching lightning bugs, trick-or-treating till bags overflowed, raking leaves to jump in, and rolling snowballs into snowmen .

Transition to…

 Scene 2:  Wedding planning.

I like going back in time, hearing that front door slam just one more time.  I can move forward much easier when I remind myself that the future is built on a very strong foundation.

 I’ve heard enough screen doors slam to know that when one door closes or slams, many, many, more open.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Daughters, family, Nostalgia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Looking Back. Smiling Forward.”

  1. reenie says:

    As usuall very well put !!!!! I still can hear the door that I grew up with at 6 Front Street- My kids don’t have that ” stay put ” history …we moved around alot and from state to state as well ~ I had it ~ lived 18 years in the same home until I got married and moved away- and have been moving, it seems , ever since- but home is where your heart is and my heart is with Jan ~ so I am always home. 🙂 I think it’s good to give kids roots and stability and it comes in many shapes and forms from being in the same to home to homeschooling. It’s not a cookie cutter recipie but I think if you can obtain it – it adds something to your life. Love to you Shelley !!!! Hope you have a great day !!! Reenie 😉

  2. DAD says:

    So beautifully stated. I still miss and have so many fond memories of Deer Lake, watching you and your sisters growing up and having your picture taken with Moe and the picture put in the Binghamton Press. I love memories. The GOOD one’s I cherish, the bad one”s I have learned from.

    LOVEYA

    • shelley says:

      I’m going to take a trip back to Deer Lake one of these summer days.

      I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures (polaroids and super 8 films for you modern folk)!

  3. Sherrie says:

    i really enjoy reading your blogs. You have quite a way with words and your subjects are always fun and interesting. I moved around a lot as a child and because of that tried to stay in 1 house for my children because I always felt I had missed something that people often talk about that “going home” . My closest feeling to that was my grandmothers house which always like a second home and was always there! She has since passed and I drive by her old house for the memories that were once there.

    • shelley says:

      Sherrie, thank you for the kind words and thank you for sharing!

      My daughters actually think that it was strange that we lived in the same house for their entire childhood.

      I moved around a bit as a child, but never thought twice about it because I didn’t know any different.

      By the way, there is something very special about going back to ‘Grandma’s House’ …those kind of memories never fade away!

  4. Please don’t take this wrong but I hate you. You are such a wonderful, unique and talented person, I have to envy you.

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

