Classic Never Fades From Style.

I never read the book in highschool.

Was it assigned?  Yes.

 But I never read the book in highschool.

I had no interest in birds. Evidence that I never did read that book.

Until now.

Some 25+ years later, I found To Kill a Mocking Bird buried on the shelf of a consignment store .  The warped cover had survived water damage, the pages were yellow from age, it smelled basement style musty; yet the words had not faded.

The book that didn’t interest me in highschool, had now kept me up all night.

Just this past week, the book caught my eye once again, sitting on a display looking updated and intentionally classic, under the sign “Summer Reading” at  Barnes & Noble.

 I picked it up, pulled it close to my nose; (it smelled just short of a Kindle).

I bought the book (again). This copy I  gifted to a lit lover who will hopefully not wait some 25+ years to read it.

I will keep my antiquated copy.

 

Classics never go out of style. Words never fade.
Leave me suggestions to add to my must read (missed them in highschool) classic lit list.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in behavior, Books, Classic, family, History, inspiration, Reading, To kill a Mocking Bird, www.youtube.com. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Classic Never Fades From Style.

  1. Just an amazing book…Have you read for mice and men…never read it at school but glad to say read it years later and now it right up there with my fav reads..please if you havent read it do !….Eliza Keating

  2. tuesday2 says:

    Putting it on my list!

  3. Renee says:

    I got forced to read so many books in high school that I HATED, but I actually loved this one. You should have read it then! 🙂 Love it. If you haven’t you should see the movie, too. It’s VERY good.

    Let me see … suggestions for classics …

    Well, I didn’t really like a lot of what was assigned in high school, but Nathaniel Hathorne is a good read (any of them). I read Les Miserables a few months ago. The unabridged version is a bear to get through, but worth it to me. You could always go abridged, though, and skip right to the story. The Third Level (a short story) is an excellent read. Mrs. Dalloway (which you MUST follow with The Hours), Great Expectations, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, anything by William Faulkner (but be prepared to think really hard), anything by Dostoyevsky, A Confederacy of Dunces (a funny one), Sula, The Catcher in the Rye (I didn’t love it like many people do, but it was a decent read). I think that’s it for now!

  4. Dad says:

    I suggest the Bible as a book to read daily.

    LOVE YA

  5. Randi Hewit says:

    The Great Gatsby, Ethan Frome, and my all-time favorite – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. On my still dislike list: Moby Dick, The Fountainhead. Ugh to both!

    • tuesday2 says:

      Randi,

      Thanks for your ‘love it or leave it’ list!

      A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is sitting on my bookcase…waiting for me to grab a summer beverage and head for the backyard hammock!

  6. Am I the lit lover? Thanks!

  7. Julie D says:

    Very interesting post Shelley. Thanks (well, except for the time I should have been working when I was following the links from the link…..LOL)

  8. Emma says:

    I second Great Expectations. My favorite book and quite possibly because it seemed like such a feat. I read that and Othello while in Italy. Shakespear is so much better when you don’t have to write the paper. I have a couple classics that I have been meaning to finish, a tree grows in brooklyn, little women, and most recently… Madame Bovary (her name is Emma). I’ll get to them some day.

    • tuesday2 says:

      Emma,

      Thank you for the comment and the suggested reading.

      I will get through my list someday too.

      I just want to make sure I take the time to enjoy the journey of the story! The book…
      and this life-

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

