Guest Post: Branding with Scent

Browsing through blogs, I found Teri. 
Teri has managed to anchor down her thoughts-
 in print, simply titledThyrkas Blog.
She writes like she is thinking out loud. 
 Her words make scents. 
Listen for yourself…
I had lived away from Seattle, my childhood home, for less than a year when I walked into a department store in a big Midwestern city.
 I was heading for women’s clothing on the second floor when I thought I heard someone call my name. I was in a hurry, but I stopped, and looked around. I was very puzzled because I was sure no one knew me in that city – certainly not well
enough to call my name out in a
public place. And yet, the voice was one I recognized somehow.
 I surveyed the area quickly to see if anyone looked familiar, then, feeling rather foolish and confused,
… I continued on my errand.
I finished my business and left the store following the same path by which I had come, rushing down the escalator and
through the store
aisles
– I had a bus to catch and couldn’t be late.
 Once again I thought I heard someone call my name. Amazing! Now I had to find this person who knew me, even
if I missed the bus. I took time to look through that area of the store, making eye contact with several of the sales people, searching for…who?
Looking around with attention, I realized I was in the perfume department, where I didn’t see any ONE I knew,
 but where I spotted some THING I knew – the perfume.

Chanel#5.

This was the fragrance my Aunt Lillian always wore, and I realized it was this fragrance that was ‘calling my name’ as I came through the store.
 I was stunned.
It was then that I learned the power of scent, which has a voice of its own, one so strong that it can make you
‘hear’ words and stop you in your busy tracks to look for someone you know and love.

Have you ever had an experience with a scent that has surprised you?
Knowing that scent can have such a strong effect, what might you do to employ its power?
Aunt Lillian had what some fashionistas call a ‘signature scent’.
 Do you have one?
About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in beauty, branding, calling my name, Chanel #5, childhood home, fashion, Osmotheque, perfume, signature scent, what's your brand and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guest Post: Branding with Scent

  1. reenie says:

    Absolutly!!!!! My Nana’s house always smelled of cookies, old newspapers (left in the side stairway for take out THAT DAY! ) and roast beef dinner for her entire family and then some! I miss her and when I smell that collection of smells I often think of her ! I love that smells make us remember things even more than words can ~ love this one ~great post !!!!! 🙂

    • tuesday2 says:

      I’m definitely hooked on connecting scent with memory! When we go on vacations I will buy a brand new scent to take with me. Long after the vacation is over, I pull that same scent off the dresser and I am immediately sent back to the beach.

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

