It’s Magic! And a Bit of Rocket Science

On a recent post, I asked readers to suggest their favorite classic for my summer reading list.

Randi nominated, “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.”

Sharing a favorite quote from the 1943 novel by author, Betty Smith.

“Oh, magic hour,

when a child first knows

she can read printed words!”

Do you remember the first book you ever read?  

Some say learning to read is more rocket science than it is magic. 

What do you remember about the magic of learning to read? 

Fun with Dick and Jane

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Books, children, Classic, Education, learning to read, quotes, Reading, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Magic! And a Bit of Rocket Science

  1. Shae says:

    I have read “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” 3 or 4 times, and it’s still the best book I’ve ever laid hands on. Great story. Absolutely perfect read!

  2. Renee says:

    You know, I don’t remember a time I didn’t know how to read. Isn’t that funny?

  3. I can’t remember when I first learned to read either…but I certainly remember the joy of long summer days spent lost in a book….A Tree Grows in Brooklyn being one of them…Cheaper By the Dozen being another.
    But I do get to see that remarkable look of surprise on children’s faces when they first realize that they ARE actually reading…sometimes they don’t realize it because they get so caught up in a story that they don’t even notice that they ARE reading…and then they finish a story that they’ve been engaged in and notice they just read something!!! …it is such a JOY to be part of that!

  4. JM Randolph says:

    I remember that my mom knew I could read long before I did. Later, when I was about eight, my dad picked me up a giant volume of the gorey Grimm’s Fairy Tales from a second hand bookstore. It had Bible-thin pages and gold edges. I spent so much of my free time hidden away with that book!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

