It’s a Big Deal. Or Its Not?

I turn to spell check, often.

In elementary school, I was the best-ever spelling champ.  I surrendered that title long ago and I have no lasting memory of the rules of grammar.

Yes, I do teach kindergarten, but it’s not often any of my students jump from their nap mats to correct my errors.

(Yes, that is an example of my sense of humor.)

I rely on spellcheck when I can. (When will FB be getting THAT feature?)

How important is grammar?

It’s a big deal.  Take a look here.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in advertising, clothing, dam auto correct, fashion, grammar, old navy, spell check, Syracuse University, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s a Big Deal. Or Its Not?

  1. letempspasse says:

    I totally agree. Spelling and grammar make or break a good text. My own little habit is to turn to the dictionary for subtle meaning when I hear a word I do not use often. I also use a thesaurus to pick the most precise synonym when I can’t think of it (Thesaurus.com quite useful).
    Have a lovely day!

  2. momsmessages says:

    I have never been a good speller, but incorrect grammar is a big pet peeve of mine! I am actually quite obnoxious about it. 🙂 Cannot believe Old Navy could let that slip! They neeed to read “Girl’s Like Spaghetti”.

  3. Renee says:

    A couple weeks ago, I wrote about the amateurish grammatical errors in Harry Potter. THREE aspiring novelists (and also bloggers) commented that it didn’t matter.

    I’m not sure if I’m sad or disgusted that people who want to write FOR A LIVING don’t think grammar matters.

  4. tuesday2 says:

    It is sad. It does matter.

    p.s. Send me a message when you find any of my errors. I do care!

    • Renee says:

      I’ve never felt the need to correct blogs (especially when they’re clearly typos or something), but I feel like a professional work — like Harry Potter, especially at that level! — should be as free as possible from major grammatical errors.

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

