There is NO Bathroom!

Have you been to Kindergarten lately?

It isn’t all finger paint, white paste, and Lincoln Logs anymore.

Kindergarten is hard work!

We can’t pause for milk and cookies every day at noon and there are no nap mats. period.

So what is kindergarten today?

  • It’s a follow-up to pre-kindergarten, which is pretty darn strict itself  these days
  • It’s reading, writing, and arithmetic
  • It’s what first grade used to be.

Welcome to kindergarten.

I don’t make up the curriculum, I teach it.

What else do I teach in Kindergarten?

I teach the really important stuff.  I teach what matters most.

  • I teach manners, accept apologies, and watch life-long friendships blossom.
  • I teach kindness, compassion, and caring…while instilling independence, resilience, and self-reliance.
  • I teach sharing and waiting your turn, even when you want to budge.

Kindergarten has a curriculum and it’s rigorous.

Far too often, it’s about passing tests and making the grade.

Life has a curriculum and it’s even more demanding.

Far too often, it’s pass or fail.

Do you know how to pass the test?

Try holding hands, ♥ just like your kindergarten teacher taught you to do.

“…when you go out into the world,

 it is best to hold hands and stick together.”
© Robert Fulghum, 1990.
Found in Robert Fulghum, All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in back to school, children, Education, Humor, inspiration, kindergarten, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to There is NO Bathroom!

  1. Tommy Heath/John Thomas Nicolai says:

    I love it!

  2. Thanks for that guiding post.

  3. Anonymous says:

    You do it so well!!!!

  4. thyrkas says:

    It took me a while to get back to this post, but I wanted to find the words to this John McCutcheon song first, called “The Kindergarten Wall”

    Song credits:
    Words and Music by John McCutcheon

    When I was a little kid not so long ago
    I had to learn a lot of stuff I didn’t even know
    How to dress myself, tie my shoes, how to jump a rope
    How to smile for a picture without looking like a dope
    But of all the things I learned my favorite of them all
    Was a little poem hanging on the kindergarten wall

    CHORUS:

    Of all you learn here remember this the best:
    Don’t hurt each other and clean up your mess
    Take a nap everyday, wash before you eat
    Hold hands, stick together, look before you cross the street
    And remember the seed in the little paper cup:
    First the root goes down and then the plant grows up!

    Well, it was first, second, third grade, fourth grade, too
    Where I had to learn the big things the big kids do
    To add, subtract, and multiply, read and write and play
    How to sit in a little uncomfortable desk for nearly half a day
    But of all they taught me my favorite of them all
    Was the little poem hanging on the kindergarten wall

    Chorus

    But lately I’ve been worried as I look around and see
    An awful lot of grown-ups acting foolish as can be
    Now I know there’s lots of things to know I haven’t mastered yet
    But it seems there’s real important stuff that grown-ups soon forget
    So I’m sure we’d all be better off if we would just recall
    That little poem hanging on the kindergarten wall

    Chorus

    ©1988 by John McCutcheon. Published by Appalsongs (ASCAP).

    Album Reference:
    Mail Myself to You
    Here’s an orchestrated version of the song:

  5. Yes, indeed….”it is best to hold hands and stick together”…. : )

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

