Reading, Keyboarding, and Arithmetic.

Things change.

The most recent shift occurred in 1990, when Zaner-Bloser eliminated all superfluous adornments from the so-called Zanerian alphabet. “They were nice and pretty and cosmetic,” says Kathleen Wright, the company’s national product manager, “but that isn’t the purpose of handwriting anymore. The purpose is to get a thought across as quickly as possible.” One of the most radical overhauls was to Q, after the U.S. Postal Service complained that people’s sloppy handwriting frequently caused its employees to misread the capital letter as the number 2

Read the entire article here.

Technology happens.

Read all about it.

What do you think?

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Art, cursive writing, learning to write, Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading, Keyboarding, and Arithmetic.

  1. amybisson says:

    Most of my students’ handwriting is inefficiently formed (letters formed upside down, backwards and everything in between) – no wonder since there is “no time” in the day for teaching handwriting. When I myself write, I rarely use handwriting for getting down my thoughts. I imagine that will only become more the norm for kids who have grown up with computers and keyboards. Then there’s the impact of touchpads! As long tax returns, legal documents and checks need a signature, there’s at least some need for handwriting. Maybe in the future there will be some technological replacement even for that!

    • Anonymous says:

      I sure do understand that ‘lack of time’ issue! Some things have to give…

      I would teach school on Saturday if the kids would show up for it; I would use that day to teach all that can not be measured by tests, scores, or data walls. 😀

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

