‘I will act as if what I do will make a difference.’ William James

The morning started off on fast-forward, as usual:

Waking before the alarm, racing to school to get a head start on 26 kindergarten students,   setting up the classroom before they can tear it apart, making copies for the day, checking last-minute plans, responding to email, and gulping coffee.  Lots of coffee.

That’s when he interrupted the chaos, tugged at my sleeve, and handed me a note from his mother.

Mrs. MacPherson, thank you for teaching my son to write his name.

The chaos stopped; everything stood still, for a moment. 

I stood still.   

Amongst the chaos, I had made a difference. 

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in children, Education, kindergarten, Teaching, words of wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ‘I will act as if what I do will make a difference.’ William James

  1. I always try to remind myself…if I make a difference to just “one” it will be enough.

  2. That’s a wonderful feeling I imagine! I clearly remember the teachers who made a difference in my life.

    • tuesday2 says:

      It is such a gift to be able to make a difference. Teaching comes second only to being a mom! 🙂

      • Anonymous says:

        Seriously…. Will you keep Alden in your class forever?? Hearing you say things like this makes my heart smile!!! ( you know me, I’d keep him home in my little bubble if I could) but you truly do love your students like your own… And I sooooo appreciate it!! Wish there were more of you;)

      • tuesday2 says:

        We have a great partnership! Thank you.

  3. tuesday2 says:

    Reblogged this on Tuesday2's Blog and commented:

    Posted over a year ago, but never outdated.

  4. Wow! Loved this post the first time you posted it, but really inspiring letter that was!

  5. I love this post. So simple, quick and so important to remember what it means to be a teacher, to be a human really! I posted this video with Vivian Paley on my Facebook Wall but I thought it was relevant after reading this post. Here is the link:

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

