I Know what you’re Doing. Thanks for the Update.

My daughters, now nearly grown, were preteens at the beginning of the 21st century.

I didn’t book walk through their diary. 

I had the worst time reading their writing.

I didn’t listen in on their phone calls. 

 I did listen to their end of the conversation.  Inescapable.

I didn’t call to check up on them.

Well, yes I did do that.  It’s in the ‘mom job description manual.’

I did what any ‘well-meaning’ creative and somewhat tech-savvy mom would do. 

 It was the era of AIM

I snooped at their computer history.

Instant messaging was the GPS that helped me keep an eye on those girls.

By the way, don’t be too quick to judge; they turned out just fine.

Now that those 20-something girls are ‘grown and gone’ I still check up on them via the easy-to-access status update.  Although, I’m not a completely gullible mom… I think they have me blocked me from much of their online life. 

Now that my daughters are responsible for their own life, they are no longer required (statute of limitations has long passed) to keep me current on their every move.  So… I am grateful for the FB status update that allows me to continue being their cyber spying mom from the comfort of my empty nest.

What does your status update say about you?  What kind of updater have you become? 

 I’ve explained myself.  Take a look here and identify yourself.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in Daughters, Humor, parenting, parenting style, social media, technology, teenagers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Know what you’re Doing. Thanks for the Update.

  1. Anonymous says:

    snooping via AIM will never be acceptable. so rude!

  2. Tommy Heath/John Thomas Nicolai says:

    Love the toilet paper binoculars!! I burst out laughing!!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

