Your Turn will Come

Dog at animal shelter

Image via Wikipedia

Lots of people talk to animals…. Not very many listen, though…. That’s the problem.

Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

When I tell people I volunteer at the local animal shelter I hear the response,

“Oh, I couldn’t do that, it would make me sad.”

I understand.

It can be sad, sad to see the homeless, helpless dogs patiently waiting for a chance, their chance for a life outside the kennel.

I volunteer. I walk the dogs, I talk to them. I look into their eyes and tell them that their turn is coming.

Their chance.

Until then, I do what I can to make their wait a bit more tolerable.

And if I start to feel sad, I remind myself that this is not about me.

It’s about them.

And their chance.

And that makes me happy.

Thank you, Donna for your guest post. 

Thank you for all that you do… for them.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in #pets, animal adoption, animal sanctuary, Animal Shelter, Animals, cats, dogs, homeless, Hope, inspiration, therapy dogs, work ethic. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Your Turn will Come

  1. Dad says:

    Thank God for someone like you that gives time from your busy schedule to show love and kindness to all our furry friends.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Doesn’t take much to get hooked.:) Proud of you, Donna! So glad to know you!!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

