Freezing Time

It’s summer, 2012.  But it’s not the same. 

What summer looks like to me.

It’s not the season that I remember growing up. 

image via Google. Memories via childhood

I summered in the 70’s. 

My days consisted of selling lemonade in a kool aid pitcher…turning the leftover lemonade into popsicles.  (The Tupperware Lady was everywhere!)

My days began and ended riding my banana seat bike without a helmet.  

It was different, because I was still a kid.

I did kid things. 

via Pinterest

I collected fireflies and kept them in a jar to light our backyard campout.

I didn’t have a backyard pool, but we did have a neighborhood slip and slide. 

Our neighborhood had everything and everyone watched everyone else’s kid. (Like it or not)

I liked summer a lot. 

I still like summer,

 <insert confession here> I just don’t appreciate it enough anymore. 

I’m a teacher, trust me…summer is still sacred but it feels different.

<insert fact here> I’m not a kid anymore.

Please tell me there are still kids out there enjoying those days When Summer Was Sacred.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in adventure, appreciation, camping, change, outdoors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freezing Time

  1. Coming East says:

    Thanks for linking to my blog, Tuesday2. My kids grew up in the seventies and eighties, and they had your kind of summers, too, but my granddaughters do not. Gymnastics and swim team practice take up much of their free time. Actually, the swim team practice is over by ten, but the ten-year-old has gymnastics for at least four hours four days a week. Her choice to pursue it, so you really can’t say anything. And kids seem to spend more time inside with computer games and TV than my kids did. In fact, we didn’t even have a computer when my kids were growing up. I grew up in the fifties, so we didn’t even have much TV then. We were always outside.

  2. Coming East says:

    By the way, I love that picture!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

