Finding your Soulmate at the Hardware Store

I believe in aromatherapy. Yet, I’m not your typical scent seeker.

I like the smell of glue. I like that thick white paste from kindergarten.
I like gasoline, not picky here.
I like the smell of fresh paint.

What I really appreciate is the look of a freshly painted room… once I find the right color.

What I like even more? I like having some fun finding the right color.

Ace Hardware knows how I like to shop. They have a unique approach to finding your soulmate.

“… a 30-second TV spot depicts a woman at the paint chip wall of an Ace store. She tells the salesman she is “looking for purple. But not like my favorite dress in college kind of purple.”

As she continues, the Ace salesman looks at eight men in a lineup, each in a different shade of purple from head to toe. As the woman says she is looking for a purple “kind of like it’s raining, only it’s raining way, way, way, way, way over there purple … Know what I mean?” the salesman motions all but one of the men away. He says to the customer, “Yeah, you want the color, but you don’t want to be smothered by it … Something you can live with for a long time.” The narrator then says, “Find your soul paint at Ace.”

Read the rest of the NYTimes article here.

For purple lovers:

For others:  Watch all three short clips!  The 2nd one is my favorite.

No go!  Color your world.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in advertising, aromatherapy, campaign, decorating, house design, Humor, painting, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding your Soulmate at the Hardware Store

  1. Pat Boice says:

    I find my soulmate at the hardware store everyday!

  2. cherilynde says:

    Okay, I have just spent *far* too much time watching video after video of those soul paint ads. I don’t know whether to thank you or curse you!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

