“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” Haruki Murakami

I haven’t read 50 Shades of Grey.

I’m okay with that.

I still don’t have that Kindle. 

Still okay with that.

via Pinterest & Allie.

I did borrow an eReader from the library. 

I did have fun learning the new technology. 

(New to me. Old news to all you techies).

I want my books.  I like old school.  I like books.

A few likes from my summer reading list:

What’s on your list?

Related links:

A CUP OF JO: What are your favorite books?

Decorated Bookcases

Books as Art

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in 50 Shades of Grey, Books, decorating, Happiness Project, house design, Kindle, Nook, Pinterest, Reading, recycle books, The Happiness Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” Haruki Murakami

  1. momsmessages says:

    Have a Little Faith is one of my favorites!! I love my Kindle, but have to read old school every now and again!!

  2. thyrkas says:

    Really appreciate Murakami’s observation – thanks for posting that! Just might steal it : ) Some friends and I have been getting together to read books that are classiscs, or have been on our TBRL (to be read list) for years, or simply seem to difficult to read through alone – Dante’s Divine Comedy, for instance. That gathering has been so much fun, and keeps us way behind the times of what everyone else is reading.

  3. Amy says:

    Love the Murakami quote, it’s soooo true (totally stealing it). I’m with you on the 50 Shades, no interest whatsoever; I highly recommend adding ‘The Geography of Bliss’ by Eric Weiner to your list. =)

  4. cherilynde says:

    I have not been reading nearly enough in these last few years of my life. I’m not sure what happened, but I am sure I don’t like it. I wouldn’t mind having a Kindle, because I’m fond of gadgets, but I’m pretty sure there would still be actual books I’d like to have, which would seem to defeat the purpose. However, whatever the format, I can just about guarantee you that 50 Shades will never be on my reading list!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

