It makes me Cry and it makes me Smile.

We long for an affection altogether ignorant of our faults. Heaven has accorded this to us in the uncritical canine attachment. ~George Eliot

We long for an affection altogether ignorant of our faults. Heaven has accorded this to us in the uncritical canine attachment. ~George Eliot

Saying goodbye to the dogs on Saturday afternoons is not easy. It makes me cry.

The easy part about volunteering at the shelter is going back every Saturday. It makes me smile.

I look forward to spending time with those patient souls; they learn to be patient, they learn how to wait.  They are waiting for their family to find them; they are waiting for their chance, their second chance.  They never give up hope.   Neither do I, their eyes won’t let me.

There is only one thing better than spending time with these four-legged friends.

The only thing better is arriving at the shelter on a Saturday morning and finding their kennel empty; it means they found their family and it means they took a piece of my heart with them.  That makes me smile.

 

 

 

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in #pets, animal adoption, animal sanctuary, Animal Shelter, Animals, dogs, words of wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It makes me Cry and it makes me Smile.

  1. Reenie says:

    Trace starts volunteering this week or next at our local SPCA ! He can’t wait, signed up and took the class all by himself – so proud of him and his desire to give back – love the picture Shelley !

  2. Dad says:

    Shelley, that is a wonderful Ministry that you and your sister are devoted too. I wish that all people could show unconditional love like a dog does. Through You and Donna, I will never buy a pedigree dog again. I will go to an animal shelter like we did when we got our cat. Who says that we can’t learn from our daughters!

    LOVE YA and am so proud of both of you.

  3. Kavita Joshi says:

    awe such a nice post..thanks for sharing dear

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

