A Balanced Diet is a Cookie in Each Hand. ~ Barbara Johnson

lunch

image via google

Eating lunch with our kindergarten class is the highlight of my day.

26 lively conversationalist all sharing 26 different stories, usually at the same time with the same high-pitched, I-can-talk-louder-than-you-can cafeteria voice.

Their voices cover a variety of tones and questions:

1.”Mrs. MacPherson, Mrs. MacPherson, Mrs. MacPherson, can you open this??”

2. “Mrs. MacPherson, Mrs. MacPherson, Mrs. MacPherson, can you close this?”

3. “Mrs. MacPherson, can you come to my birthday party?”  (Often planned 11 1/2 months in advance; it includes a pony and a piñata, and without any notice to their family).

4.  “Mrs. MacPherson, can I go to the nurse? I.  think.  I’m.  going.  to.  puke!” (Often unplanned and without any notice to anyone).

A lot goes on in the school cafeteria.

Someone is always trying to trade someone something for something and I usually get handed a variety of supplements to add to my own packed lunch.

I’m often given a Ziplock, snack size bag of bite-sized Chip Ahoy cookies, an occasional dented organic juice box, seedless grapes, or my all time favorite… 1/2 of a squished bologna and cheese sandwich (covered with ketchup).

Fine dining with some very fine friends.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in cafeteria food, food, Humor, kindergarten, mindless eating, not healthy food, quotes, signs of life in the USA and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Balanced Diet is a Cookie in Each Hand. ~ Barbara Johnson

  1. Love it! Hanging out with the little ones is a blast! I love to just sit by and listen to what they are saying–you have the best job in the world!

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

