“I called U-Haul and canceled the truck.”

I am a minimalist.

I don’t fill my home or my life with accessories.

I am continually getting rid of things.

Most of the stuff I hang on to I have stored somewhat neatly in my mind.

I do hoard memories.

Not the memories you find in old photo albums filled with black and white pictures.

Not the memories you have to dust.

An exception.  My grandmother's rocking chair that sits in our kindergarten classroom and collects no dust.

An exception. My grandmother’s rocking chair that sits in our kindergarten classroom and collects no dust.

With a few exceptions, I don’t want to fill a U-Haul.

I don’t want my daughters to have to pack that truck.

Click here for the how and why of “Letting go of sentimental items.”

Consider it a gentle guide to canceling that U-Haul and hanging on to the really important stuff.

The stuff that doesn’t collect dust.

About tuesday2

My husband tells me I talk too much. I tell him that I have a lot to say. Here’s the solution… Welcome to my blog!
This entry was posted in accessories, advice, memories, pictures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I called U-Haul and canceled the truck.”

  1. thyrkas says:

    Hi Shelley ~ I admire your thinking on this subject. Some people have put it this way: “Anything in your house that does not have a story connected with it is junk. You can toss it. If it has a story, be sure you share the story with those around you – especially the children. If you don’t pass on the story to the children it isn’t your past you will lose – it’s your future.”
    Thx for the post!
    Teri

  2. I read the article, and it’s all very well and good. But what if you don’t have a great memory? What if you can’t store it all in your head?

Tell me what you think. Leave your thoughts here!

